For those of you who are already experiencing the foreboding sense of pressure that is soon to come in the form of midterms and assignments later on in the Spring quarter, the Human Nature: Contemporary Art from the Collection exhibition at LACMA may very well be one of the perfect ways to relax and decompress.

The collection features photography, paintings, videos, and even audio from artists ranging from the 1960s to the present.  I myself have always been somewhat sceptical about modern art (the very idea of signing a ceramic toilet bowl and calling it modern art, for instance, vexes me), but at the same time I must confess that I have been converted during my brief three hour tour of the exhibit in late March.  The displays were all aesthetically pleasing and, in some cases, remarkably provocative.  The collection also does not require the viewer to necessarily possess the professional eye of an artist in order to fully appreciate its merits; one could derive pleasure even from casual viewing.

The exhibition is on display till July 4, 2011.  Tickets cost $10, and free parking is available right across the street.

